Playing With Fire
Don't deny yourself pleasure today because of what you don't yet know about the future. Play with fire.

M.I.A. has always been HOT!

MIAI LOVE M.I.A. But noo, not the way most love her. One of the best in the game before  people finally caught wind of her true talent and not just because she was sampled in “Swagga Like Us” with Kanye, Jay-Z, and Lil Wayne. Even before you heard her almost 6th single finally being played in the club, “Paper Planes.”

Her debut album in 2005, Arular, was the best! And her second album in 2007, Kala, was on an even higher level production wise. I must give credit to one of my best friends, Brittany. Thanks for bringing Arular to class in high school and introducing me to what would soon become one of my favorite CDs. 🙂 With M.I.A’s personal political struggle growing up in a civil war in Sri Lanka and living as an refugee in London, her music is infused with global ideas and political empowerment for those without voices.

“M.I.A. has been playing with Fire since the day she was born, so here is my tribute to you.”-Fire

Here is one of my favorite M.I.A. videos (one of many). “Bucky Done Gun” from her first album Arular. Click here to view the video.

Check out my Marc Jacobs post, which also features M.I.A.

3 Responses to “M.I.A. has always been HOT!”

  1. yes….. it amazed me how people hopped on her as if she was “new” when her second album came out when in reality she has been hot since like many many moons ago ! “URAQT” is one of my favs !!!!!

  2. […] be sure to check out my previous post on M.I.A here. I just love a popular artist of […]

  3. […] be sure to check out my previous post on M.I.A here. I just love a popular artist of […]


Leave a Reply

