Playing With Fire
Don't deny yourself pleasure today because of what you don't yet know about the future. Play with fire.

A Simple Reply…

I wanted to reply/express a thought that required too many characters for a Twitter update, and a little too much thought for the numerous facebook friends who I may or may not know.

Subject: Erykah Badu

Thought: In my opinion, it is important for us to acknowledge not that Erykah Badu is listened to and heard by unique individuals, but that she transcends POP CULTURE barriers and shatters the standards and stereotypes set by the average consumer. From people who listen to Beyonce’ and Gucci Mane, to people who listen to Ledisi and Les Nubians, Erykah Badu is a common denominator. Although many identify her as “neo-soul,” she believes that neo-soul is dead. She is an artist and art is her religion. Like her, her musical genres and style transcend limiting categories. Ms. Badu is a rarity, being that she is an eccentric and uncommon artist that still can successfully maneuver the terrain of narrow-minded POP CULTURE. I say all this to say, applaud her for being such a powerful force, but don’t disdain individuals who are new to her music. She is opening their eyes and educating all.

Like Erykah, I want my blog to breathe new life into POP CULTURE. This is why I integrate unconventional music and style with some intriquing POP CULTURE music and style. I do this in hopes of creating an amazing fusion.

This is my simple reply,

FIRE

One Response to “A Simple Reply…”

  1. Ms. Badu is….all that is authentic. I believe in her words and majority of her beliefs; you are a product of your environment…body language and art is inevitable to everyone, the “average consumer” ( lol, which i thought was funny), individuals just interpret it differently. Some might not understand it but they feel her. Erykah can not be denied…she offers the feeling of FREEDOM, the exemption from external control. Like you said, “she is…educating all”. She is one of my master teachers, a long with my mother, of course. I live. Barka da rana.


Leave a Reply

